Let's see the grade of your blastocyst.

You may be confused because the embryo report you received has different description from the one your friend received. Please don't worry about that. Uterus International Medical has insisted on globalizing the assisted reproductive routes and customizing every client's case for years. So those different reports our clients received are related to  the visiting in the different reproductive center. In fact , however, they are basically no difference.

These letters and numbers combine together, looking like verification codes, what do they mean?

Is my embryo good or bad? Can it be transplanted?

Well, let's figure out together.

First we have to make sure the terms in the report you receives are "blastocyst" or "egg".

Since the basic process of IVF is:
Ovulation induction - Egg retrieval - Sperm extraction - In vitro fertilization - Embryo culturing


The embryo formed on the first day after in vitro fertilization is called a fertilized egg.
The second to fourth days are “cleavage embryos”.
The embryos formed on the fifth to sixth days are called "blastocysts".

A blastocyst is an embryo with a large number of cells. The blastocyst cells are classified into trophectoderm cells (which then differentiate into placenta portions) and inner cell mass (and then differentiate into fetal parts) depending on the site of differentiation.

Both part of the cell are very important: as long as normal growth and development, they can be planted in the uterine cavity. The blastocyst is like a huge water polo, in addition to these two types of cells, the middle is filled with liquid, and called the "capsule cavity", and these liquids are "capsule fluid".

If the terms you have are " blastocysts", then please keep looking the following content:

Lets take the scoring  of  B4AA, a Day5 embryo as an example,

The first B represents a blastocyst;

The second number 4 indicates that the developmental stage of this blastocyst is stage 4 (that is, the expanded blastocyst);

The third letter A represents the level of the inner cell mass (A or B is better, C is slightly worse);

The fourth letter A stands for the level of trophoblast cells (again, A or B is better, C is slightly worse).


But don't underestimate the CC-level embryos, because for those who fail to transplant repeatedly, CC is also a treasure. Why do I say that? Please look forward to the next issue of Uterus.

And what do the specific 123 and ABC separately represent?

The number is actually used to distinguish the developmental stage of the "blastocyst"

1: Early blastocyst (the blastocyst is less than 1/2 size)
       Representative as a primary blastocyst, the blastocyst cavity is less than 1/2 of the total volume of the embryo;

2: Early blastocyst (the blastocyst cavity is larger than 1/2 size)
       Representing the initial blastocyst, the blastocyst cavity is greater than or equal to 1/2 of the total volume of the embryo;

3: Full blastocyst: complete blastocyst;

4: Expanded blastocyst: 

    The blastocyst cavity is completely filled with embryos, the total volume of the embryo becomes larger, and the transparent band edge is thin;

5:Hatching blastocyst : blastocyst in hatching
   Representing a blastocyst that is hatching, a portion of the blastocyst escapes from the zona pellucida;

6: Hatched blastocyst: fully hatched blastocyst
    Representing the blastocyst that has been hatched, the blastocysts all escape from the zona pellucida.

The second letter indicates the inner cell mass fraction:
Class A, the number of cells is large, and the arrangement is tight;
Class B, the number of cells is small and the arrangement is loose;
Class C, the number of cells is small.

The third letter indicates trophoblast cell grading
Grade A, the epithelial cell layer is composed of more cells and has a dense structure;
Grade B, the epithelial cell layer is composed of few cells and has a loose structure;
Grade C, the epithelial cell layer is composed of sparse cells.

In addition, the number of days of blastocysts is also an important indicator to determine its developmental potential. Generally speaking, D5 is the best, followed by D6. After the last two letters are combined, the order of quality from high to low is: AA, AB, BA, BB > AC, BC > CA, CB, CC.

One more important thing is: not well-rated embryos can definitely guarantee the final successful pregnancy and embryos with poor scores will absolutely fail. Because all these indicators can only be PREDICTED!

The developmental potential of the embryo, in general, the higher the embryo's pregnancy rate is higher, but the embryonician only scores "appearing by appearance" when performing embryo scoring, and can not identify some "flower boxing legs" or "potential stocks", just like the test score can be Judging the candidate's ability to learn, but not the future of the candidate.

At the 23rd IFFS International Reproductive Union Conference in 2019, Professor Carlos Simon pointed out at the meeting that even the best embryos, the transplant failure rate will be as high as 74%, which is related to the endometrial tolerance of the uterus and intrauterine It is related to complex microbial flora, which is currently a hot topic in the field of assisted reproduction. However, Lishe believes that in the near future, as medical technology continues to advance, this difficulty is expected to be broken.

In the end, wish all embryos a "brilliant future"!

consult now